The Daedalus Quartet, Penn’s quartet-in-residence, explores migration through music, illustrating how centuries of cultural cross-pollination has enriched our artistic and spiritual life. Music truly has no borders, unifying through the universality of the human experience. In this performance, the quartet will perform works that exhibit the richness and complexity of this cultural convergence, including a world premiere of traditional African American spirituals by Nansi Carroll.


  • Sofia Gubaidulina - Reflections on the theme B-A-C-H
  • Osvaldo Golijov - Yiddishbbuk
  • Nansi Carroll - On My Journey Now: Five Spirituals (World premiere) 

          with Karen Slack, soprano

  • Tan Dun - Ghost Opera 

          with Min Xiao-Fen, pipa


This performance is co-presented with the Annenberg Center.